You are here

Alexander String Quartet

Community Sponsor

Classical King FM (98.1)

Performance Dates

  • Wed May 22 2019 7:30 PM


Meany Hall – Katharyn Alvord Gerlich Theater

In a new project by the Alexander String Quartet and pianist Joyce Yang, Samuel Adams, composer in residence with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, explores the resonance of Mozart with his own unique musical voice. Adams is curious to know what is rhetorically kept (or lost) when a classical form comes forth "into the flesh" out of context; and these award-winning master performers weave an exciting musical tapestry. 

An unusually fine group — musically, technically, in just about any way one wants to view it. 
— The New York Times 

Program | What is Lost? What Remains?

MOZART: Quartet No. 1 for Piano & Strings in G Minor, K. 478

SAMUEL ADAMS: Quintet with Pillars

MOZART: Quartet No. 2 for Piano & Strings in E-flat major, K. 493


The ENCORE program for this performance is available to READ ONLINE

Tessitura Event ID



File strings_sessions_alexander_string_quartet_performs_mozart_and_brahms File joyce_yang_alexander_string_quartet_brahmsschumann_the_piano_quintets_by_joyce-yang File brahms_-_allegro_non_troppo_-_joyce_yang_piano_the_alexander_string_quartet_by_joyce-yang Image icon Joyce Yang (photo ©KT Kim) Image icon Alexander String Quartet (photo ©Rory Earnshaw) Image icon Joyce Yang (photo ©KT Kim)


Season/Catalog Year

Promo Media

Image icon alexander-split-hero.jpg