You are here

ONLINE — Takács Quartet

Meany On Screen: Feature Performance

Apr 16Apr 23

Performance Dates

  • Fri Apr 16 2021 through Fri Apr 23 2021


Meany Center Digital Stage

Watch here on our website:
April 16, 12:00 noon — April 23, 11:59 p.m. (PDT)

FREE. Streaming on demand. No pre-registration required.

Now in its 45th year, the Takács Quartet holds an undisputed place at the peak of their profession. The first string quartet inducted into the Gramophone Hall of Fame in 2012 and the first string quartet to win the Wigmore Hall Medal in 2014, the Takács Quartet is renowned for the vitality of its interpretations. Meany Center is pleased to present this virtual concert performance featuring the music of Florence Price and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor as well as W. A. Mozart, Béla Bartók, and Claude Debussy.

Even in the most fiendish repertoire these players show no fear, injecting the music with a heady sense of freedom. 
Financial Times



W. A. Mozart: String Quartet No. 15 in D Minor, K. 421/417b (Mvt. I)

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Five Fantasiestücke, Op. 5 (Mvts. I, III)

Florence Price: String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor (Mvt. II)

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 1 in A Minor (Mvts. I, III)

Claude Debussy: String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 10 (Mvts. III, IV)


International Chamber Music Series generously underwritten by Eric and Margaret Rothchild

Your support makes a world of difference to Meany artists and staff partnering to keep performing arts alive.